returning to dock after midnight on thursday night

Talk about anything related to the forum.

returning to dock after midnight on thursday night

Postby jpaul » July 29th, 2013, 11:31 pm

A family friend of ours was checked at the dock when arriving back, after bulley netting Thursday night, just after midnight and got arrested for lobstering out of season. He had got his limit and finished lobstering at 11:30 and headed in. They said because he was on the water with lobster and lobstering gear after midnight he was in violation. I have been doing this for thirty years and have never heard of having to be off the water by midnight, just no harvesting after midnight. Does anybody know where, if it even exists, that states in the rules that you have to bee off the water by midnight?
jpaul

Re: returning to dock after midnight on thursday night

Postby chuck » August 5th, 2013, 2:49 pm

I've never heard of it either. I just called FWC Law Enforcement @ 305-956-2500 and was told that transportation after 11:59PM Thurs of mini season is ok so long as you are not harvesting. Does he have a GPS unit on his boat that would be able to prove that he was in motion at all times after midnight? I'm not sure if it would help or not, but it certainly couldn't hurt. The rules below seem like they may contradict what I was told, but there may be other rules specifically regarding the transportation just after mini season. Obviously it's best to rely on what the rules say and not what an individual says. I would definitely seek legal counsel. Please keep us up to date on what happens.

Here are the rules regarding Lobstering. https://www.flrules.org/gateway/Chapter ... ter=68B-24
Here are the rules specifically for the seasons. https://www.flrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?title=SPINY LOBSTER (CRAWFISH) AND SLIPPER LOBSTER&ID=68B-24.005

Here is something that seems to apply.

68B-24.005 Seasons.